Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 January » Green Superfood

Green Superfood

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

I was shopping at Sprouts earlier this week and saw that they were green foodhaving a 25% off sale on health items. Naturally I needed to see what was included in this sale. I strolled down the vitamin/supplement aisle and ran across the Super Green Food section. At 25% off, I was willing to try Green Superfood.

I took my green prize home and couldn’t wait to break the foil seal under the green lid. Once I broke the seal, the green dust rose up. I stuck my nose just above the lid rim and took in a full sniff. Ok, I really couldn’t put my finger on how it smelled exactly, so I will say that it smelled of sweet dirty vitamin green.

I grabbed a cup and filled it up with water. The directions said to use at least 8oz of water or juice, so what would it hurt to use 14oz of good old H2O. I used the little scoop provided and plopped the first trial into the cup of water.

It looked like blended up lawn material with a bit of sand mixed in. My first sip was almost my last sip, but I’m too cheap to let $20 go into the trash. The initial taste reminded me of my spice rack. It tasted like they put my whole spice rack into a mix and added some grass. It had a very earthy flavor. The trouble of using 14oz of water was that now I had 14oz of this stuff to chug down. With that taste, there was going to be no sipping! After about 10 minutes, it was gone and I was able to keep it down.

The next morning I talked my husband into trying a shot of the goodness. He hadn’t watched my reaction the day before and I was stressing how great it was for him. He agreed to try it. I mixed us both a small cup with 1 scoop of green with about 4oz of water. Down the hatch it went. I liked that it was gone in a gulp, so that was an improvement over the first taste. My husband was a good sport and finished the whole 4oz green shot. He politely said, “No more” and walked out the front door to work. I don’t think he liked it much because this morning when I went to make more 4oz green shots, he declined the offer.

The 4oz green shot method works good for me and I drink a lot of other fluids during the day. I haven’t noticed any huge differences in how my body feels or how I think, but I did create a whole new blog and wrote over 2000 words yesterday after taking the 4oz green shot.

My only negative comment so far was my mouth’s reaction to the drink on the first taste. Food sometimes irritates my system and the first drink of the green stuff left a mild ulcer on the side of my mouth. Taking the green stuff in the form of a shot has not caused any further ulcers. I hope that it’s not causing ulcers in other parts of the digestive system, but I’m sure I’ll know soon on that issue.

I will continue to take the 4oz green shots until this bucket is finished. I’ll repost any updates.

UPDATE – 1/12/14

On Saturday and Sunday, I did not take the Green Superfood. My body didn’t feel good. My joints hurt and my guts felt like they were loaded with concrete. A few years ago, I once set off an episode of “bad food intolerance” by adding ground Flax Meal to my diet. I did an allergy skin prick test and my whole back swelled up. The Flax probably wasn’t the only thing but after adding it (within a week) an allergic flare up happened in my body. The pain that I felt this weekend was similar to that past flax episode, so I was cautious and stopped taking the 4 oz shot for the weekend. I also worked out pretty hard at the gym last week. I couldn’t tell if the pain was from what I was eating or exercise.

Today I took the 4oz shot and am drinking a bunch of liquids. I feel great. But it’s Monday and I’m writing. I will keep you posted on the Green Superfood.

 UPDATE – 1/21/14

To be honest, I haven’t continued to drink the Green Shots every morning. I keep forgetting to take the gulp of green juice. Maybe it’s because my brain is protecting my tongue from a gritty green assault OR I just don’t like it enough to continue. I wish I could stamp a giant “F” across my post because I have failed to try the Green Superfood more than a few days in a row.

Honestly, adding a few hours of exercise every week and adding some water to my diet has really helped me feel better and those 2 changes have greatly improved my mood. It feels great to jump on a tread mill for an hour while I catch up on reading or watching TV. If you try the Green Superfood and have any noticeable benefits or negative effects…. I’d love to hear them. Please leave a comment below.

2 Comments

  1. sanseilife says:

    Thanks for the follow. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. My dogs do a green superfood made for dogs called Barley Dog. It helps with their bad doggie breath and has eliminated it. Just saying…. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

Nutrition. Design. Life.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

