Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 January » A Writer Is Born

A Writer Is Born

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

B oldGood Day All! It’s cold outside and there is a lot of snow on the ground. My husband said there is more on its way. Yay. And that was a sarcastic yay. I tend to like ‘real’ winter for the first few days and then I start to get annoyed with it. It’s not that I’m not thankful for the winter snow and how the cold weather kills the bugs. It’s just that I like to spend time outside without a mountain of clothing on. I think living in Central Texas spoiled me on winter. It did get cold there… at least a week a year.

Over the past few months, I’ve started a new adventure. Let me back track a minute. When I was in my 20s, I had babies and was focused on capturing the next big job title with a full time job. I didn’t spend much time or thought on my family or husband past the point of making money and doing chores for them. The baby sitter opened up at 6:30am and the kids were dropped off until I returned around 6pm. (I now miss that time but that’s another posting) Just before 30, I finished my BS degree in Technical Management. At that time I took a part-time job. I enjoyed taking my kids to school in the morning and picking them up in the afternoon. I began to be intentional about the time spent with my family and husband. Then when I was 32, I quit working at a “job” and began to home school my kids and I invested much of myself into my family. Good times! Of course God’s hand was in all of this. I’m smitten for this journey through life with the Lord’s guidance and teachings. I appreciate the discipline and the many blessings.

My oldest daughter is now in 10th grade and my youngest daughter is in 8th grade. I’ve really enjoyed our time together as we have homeschooled. I originally thought I could do a better job than the schools were with educating my kidos and now, well, I hope they continue to love learning through out their life times. To not settle for cram-n-dump knowledge. (again, another posting)

Together as a family, we have been working on letting the kids have the freedom to become who they are and to also train their minds correctly. With the 15 yr old, that means she gets to have a boy friend and having her map out plans for her future as either a Chief or a MD. The 13 yr old gets to start telling me what she’s interested in and has started voice lessons and volunteering with the children’s ministry. I don’t volunteer in the children’s ministry and think I may even be allergic to it, so I know that’s all her.

The kids are started off on their own life adventures. Within a few years, they will not need me the same way or the same amount of time they need now. I realized some time last year after moving from our “home” of 13 years in Texas to Colorado, that I had no idea who I wanted to be when I grew up. I briefly lost a sense of my own identity. I couldn’t see myself continuing in the computer field or with government contacts. I suppose I could work on computers, but I was wanting to have a bigger goal. I don’t want to turn screws on a computer box forever and that technology is on its way out anyways. Besides that, I’m not the brightest bulb about computers when being compared with my more up to date peers.

I wrestled a good few months on who I was and who I was going to be. Then something changed. I follow Tammy Kling on Facebook and she posted a challenge to “WRITE”. A few years back, I got an opportunity to meet her and I had no idea who she was or what she did. From that one meeting, I stopped using an alarm clock every day. Yes, I had been using one almost every day.

I took that challenge in the beginning of Nov 2014 to “Write”. My daughters and I came up with a story line and I wrote a book. It’s meant for a younger audience to teens, but I love the story too. 🙂 The initial story took 2 months to write and was only about 24,000 words. Now with my first edit almost complete, it’s 36,000 words, but I plan to add some more. So it’s a work in progress. When I started writing, it was very bare boned and now I’m having fun adding the life. 20,000 words was my original goal. Now it’s 40,000 to 50,000+. I hope to have a finished product (at least finished enough to get an agent or a publisher to pick it up) in the next few months. Cross your fingers and say a prayer for me. My 2015 goal is to make some $ for my words. YIKES!

That brings us to now. I started this blog so that I can establish that I can write or at least I’m willing to try. But the other day, I was using the blog as a distraction from my editing. And today I know the blog and the editing distract me from the home school. So I’m learning (or going to have to learn) to juggle all three. This very short post hasn’t turned out as short as I intended, but I’m feeling satisfied by getting it onto the screen.

My goals for this blog are to post at least a few times a week with whatever catches my attention. Sometimes I get lost in thoughts of my past, my future, organization, cooking, and what ever comes to mind. I used to want to be smart and a science minded expert, but now I want to embrace who I am and just think and write. I used to be offended to be called unique, now I hope it’s an edge. I am a Romantic Idealist.

In closing, I extend a challenge to you, WRITE. Start small or start big. Just start!

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

Nutrition. Design. Life.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

