Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 January » The Problem With New Writers

The Problem With New Writers

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

I am by no means an experienced or a seasoned writer. So really I’m working within the thickness of problems with new writers. With my 30 something years of life experience and my 3 months of actual pen-to-paper writing experience, I’d like to share the top problems of new writers. This list is specifically pointing fun at my own mental state.

1. Clueless – Yes, new writers are clueless. Clueless about the publishing and literary agent industry. Clueless about what gets published. And clueless about their ‘writer’s voice’. Fix: read advice blogs, buy books, and ask for help. I’ve already spent endless hours reading about the writing/editing/publishing process and have bought a few books. I’ll let you know, once I publish my first book, if this advice actually works.

2. Manic – New writers are manic about their writing habits. From what I’ve read, some seasoned writers have boundaries and set hours of work. They can easily do life and writing. As for me, I can sit down to write for a week and my life falls apart. My house is a mess and my husband is concerned that I should leave the house once in a while. Who cares if there are no more clean clothes or no food in the fridge anyways? My writing takes over my thoughts and I’d rather hang out in my head with my story than real people. Fix: create working boundaries?

3. Tri-Polar – New writers often swing from ‘I’m an awesome new writer’ to ‘I don’t know how to write’ to ‘My writing sucks’. All three of these thought patterns can happen over the course of a week or all in one day. One day last week, I cycled through these thoughts twice. Fix: prior to becoming a new writer, warn the people in your life about the “problems with new writers”. Take a list of the names and emails of people who you know are willing to read over your work and can critique you or encourage you.

4. Distracted – Right after I wrote #3 I got a phone call, checked email, check Facebook, checked Twitter, checked email again, and ate lunch. You can bet I rechecked Facebook and my email before I writing again. By the time I opened this post back up I had forgotten what I was writing. Once I reread the title and the already created content, I thought I was funny and checked my Facebook. I ripped my attention away from the other things on the computer and started typing again. Fix: Start with…. hold on, I need to check my email.

5. Dreamers – New writers can be the most annoying type of dreamers. They all, at least sometimes, think they will be the next best thing to hit the market. They are all insanely over-confident and may even become offended by suggestions that their work needs work. They spend time they could be writing and editing on day dreaming about fame. Statistically, their dreams will stay in dream land and their books will sit on their laptops. Fix: learn to cycle through “Tri-polar” phases so that you can quickly go from dreaming to doubting.

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

by Nutrition. Designed.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

