Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 March » Excuse Me While I’m Out

Excuse Me While I’m Out

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

Yay! Not only is it Spring Break for our home school community, but I’ve found a writing contest. It’s actually a writing contest that fits my book. Can you imagine? I’m sure contests like this come around often but this beauty has me written all over it. If you have any YM Adventure Fiction Contest ideas or sources…. please paste them in the comments.

This contest has turned into a motivational boost that I’ve needed. I’ve already spent hundreds of hours on my manuscript and it’s only 43,000 words. But after hundreds of hours, I do not yet have a finished product. Maybe this is because I’m an armature writer and maybe I’m slow. I’m half way through the 3rd edit and up until yesterday, my progress was at a halt. Home schooling my kidos actually takes up a good deal of my time and managing the household also occupies my time. But now, I need to intentionally carve out some editing time. Start time…. NOW!

I have my story into a publisher and a few agent queries out there. Thankfully I’ve been rejected at least once, but no response from the others. I will patiently wait for a yes and finish the 3rd edit.

The writing contest is here.


 

Here’s some basic info about the contest:

Fiction Contest

Welcome to the 2015 Leapfrog Fiction Contest page!

The contest will open on January 15 and close on May 1.

the entry fee is $30.

What to Enter

Adult, young adult (YA) and middle grade (MG) novels, novellas, and short story collections are accepted. Minimum word count: 22,000. Individual stories in a collection may have been published in journals. Books that have been self-published will be considered “:unpublished” if fewer than about 200 copies were printed.

We look for literary fiction and mainstream fiction, including science fiction. Generally we are less interested in strict genre fiction, but if a manuscript is good and grabs our attention, we don’t care what the genre is.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

Nutrition. Design. Life.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Pint Size Fiction

Welcome to my world of microscopic fiction

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

