Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 March » The Big Day – For Pistachio – Semi Fictional Short

The Big Day – For Pistachio – Semi Fictional Short

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

According to my chart, I was born behind some convenience store dumpster. When my Momma’s owners found out she was pregnant, they dumped her off. I wonder if they even slowed down their car when they booted her out. Can you imagine what kind of owner dumps a pregnant momma off in the snow when temperatures have fallen blow zero degrees? There was a pizza box left out and my momma had us there. The store owner found us there and called to have us picked up.

A man came to pick us up. My momma was too tired to even protest. My 2 sisters and 1 brother were too small to even open our eyes on that day but we could hear them talking. The store owner didn’t have the heart to leave us out there in the snow. He kept calling us dumpster babies. I guess I’m a dumpster baby.

The cage that in the van was so warm. The man in the truck picked us all up in one scoop and put all 5 of us on a warm blanket in the cage. The cage door was secured and the man hopped into the driver seat. The engine roared and the truck’s heater kicked on. The warm air blew back over us and it felt so good. I almost fell right to sleep. He turned some knob and the radio came on.

“More snow tonight” said the voice, “the Arctic Vortex shows no sign of leaving.” Then the music came on. Guitars and drums pulsed the warm air. Then his phone played a tune and he turned the knob back off on the radio. The man in the truck pulled over and took the call. His son, Chad, was sick at school and he needed to come pick Chad up.

Chad had been sick a lot this year. The doctors weren’t sure why but his immune system wasn’t working well. He kept getting sick. Thankfully his dad was able to get a job driving this truck. The job wasn’t so bad. Dad would pick up stray animals and check on pets that weren’t being treated well. The job paid for the doctors visits for Chad. The man driving the truck took care of his son and the animals.

I could tell I would like him and he’d like me if he’d just pick me up out of this cage. I could tell he was an animal lover. He was everything that an employee at a Humane Society should be. Taking care of people and animals.

The truck stopped and the man picked up our cage. He brought us into the building. That place was warm too. He smiled and handed us over to the receiving lady. “More dumpster babies,” he said. The receiving lady’s face dropped it’s smile and she took my momma out of her cage. She hugged my momma and some tears fell from her eyes. “I hate it when this happens and it happens all the time,” she said. The receiving lady put my momma back in our cage and pet us all. Her tears kept falling on our heads.

We were checked into the computer and transferred into a new cage. It was warm and there was food for my momma. I can’t even eat food yet. My momma left us to explore the litter box and to get some water. There was more milk to give us this time when she laid back down. She was full for the first time since I’ve been born.

We hung out in that cage for about a week. The people kept coming in to check on us and gave us more food. I opened my eyes and started eating that wet food in the cage. It was so warm and the blanket was so cozy. It was better than when we lived behind the dumpster.

One of the workers took us out of our cage and put us into a big pet carrier. The worker had curly blonde hair and big caring eyes. She had visited us often while we lived there in that cage. The worker picked us up and took us out into a room where a woman and two red heads were sitting. When they saw the cage, they came to us and opened the cage. The kept smiling and kissing us. Didn’t they know we were dumpster babies.

The woman and her two red heads signed for us and got supplies from the curly blonde lady. She said she’d see us back in a week for a check up. The woman and her two red heads packed us up in their car and took to their home. It was warm.

They kept hugging and petting me. The woman keeps telling everyone that the one with the green collar is her favorite. That is me. I love her too. She is warm and she sits at her computer a lot. I like to sleep on her lap. She is so warm. When she calls me, I waste no time. I’m there. The two red heads loved us too. They hold us and pamper us. They kiss us all the time maybe more than the woman. The two red heads clean up our messes. We make lots of messes all 5 of us. The woman’s husband feeds us in the morning before he goes to work. Me and my family like sitting with him while he watches TV in the evening.

They call us “Fosters” so I guess they didn’t hear the store owner who called us “Dumpster babies.” I like Fosters better anyways. I hope the store owner won’t get mad that woman and her family changed our names.

I’ve been eating so much food and playing with brother and sisters. My momma even likes to play with us. She loves to chase the toys around but she doesn’t like climbing up the curtains like I do. We’ve all grown a lot. I now weigh over two pounds.

We went to a check up yesterday and they say we are ready. The woman and her two red heads are going to bring us back to the woman with curly blonde hair. She says it’s time we find our forever home. We are going to be neutered or spayed tomorrow and this weekend we get to go to the mall. That’s were someone is going to adopt us. YAY! Saturday will be the Big Day!

IMG_4164

6 Comments

  1. […] The Big Day – For Pistachio – Semi Fictional Short […]

    Like

  2. Wendy B says:

    We dropped all 5 cats off this morning. I miss them all already!

    Like

  3. slskenyon says:

    Adorable story!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Pistachio finds a forever home this […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

by Nutrition. Designed.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

