Yep! We Live Like That

Home » 2015 March » Fasting – March 2015

Fasting – March 2015

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Yep! We Live Like That on WordPress.com

Blogs I Follow

imageFor our family, this years Lent season started a week later than the traditional Lent. I went to visit my mom out-of-state during the beginning of the observance and I was celebrating life. As soon as we returned home, we all took up our fasts. I gave up digital gaming/FB (my xbox is gathering dust as we speak) and my husband gave up fast food & Fries. One of my girls gave up snacking and the other read meat.

For this year, that didn’t seem like enough. I have added in a few mini fasts. For this week, M-F, my husband and I are doing a Blender-Fruits/Veggies type fast. We have been sharing a half avocado and veggie burger patty for dinner. We’ve also been drinking water like crazy.

We have tried ‘juicing’ in the past but I can not stomach the cost of a high-end juicer on our budget. The cheap juicer we tired in the past produced little juice and much waste. I always felt like I was throwing away money. For this fast, I bought a $99 Ninja blender. So far I love it! It blends veggies down into a drinkable state and I’m not trashing a bunch of left over produce.

This Veggie/Fruit fast is a significant change from our normal eating/drinking habits. We generally have a 1-2 beers each evening or I might have a glass of wine. We generally eat meat with every meal along with different wheat products. I thought I’d miss the beer the most, but it wasn’t that.

IMG_9396Each day of this simple 5 day fast has been different:

Day 1 – We started the day off with green tea/lemon. I craved crispy toast w/butter & eggs. I was hungry allllllll day long and became aware of how much snacking I’ve been doing during the day. We planned to follow a blender fast plan that I found online, but it was just toooo much. It had 5 veggie/fruit packed drinks but both my husband and I can only stomach about 2 to 3 a day. I was thankful to have that plan as a guide and make our drinks with similar ingredients. Just not as much. My husband and I ate a few bites of fruit and veggies that night. The drinks and water cleaned me out on Day 1. My abdomen was feeling less stuffed. My husband had a headache and I did not.

IMG_9397Day 2 – Both my husband and I jumped on the scale to see if we had lost any weight. We lost a few. Probably just water weight.  We started the day off with green tea/lemon. I craved eggs all day long. We had 2 blender drinks and for dinner we ate half a veggie patty w/half an avocado. Dinner was satisfying. I still felt like I was starving during the day but pushed through and exercised as normal. I slept well. On day 2, the water and drinks cleaned my husband out. We both felt good.

Day 3 – Again, we woke up and jumped on the scales. We lost a few more pounds. Probably just more water weight.  We started the day off with green tea/lemon. I made a big veggie/fruit drink for my husband and I to sip on all day. We ate a hand full of raw almonds and ate a few bites of fruits. We drank plenty of water and had the same dinner as day 2. We felt awesome. I was not starving all day long and was able to drink green tea when I took my kids to “free pie” night at the Village Inn. On a side note, at bed time my gums looked swollen and my tongue had ulcers all over. The ulcers were probably from all the veggies/fruits, but I wasn’t sure. After looking through the internet info, I decided I probably needed some vitamins and drank a Muscle Milk protein shake. My gums looked better in the morning, but I’m not sure why they looked bad in the first place.

IMG_9399Day 4 – Again, we woke up and jumped on the scales. We dropped about 7 lbs. I’m thinking it’s still water weight and cutting out alcohol. I thought I’d miss my nightly sip of yum, but I didn’t. I missed food. We started the day off with green tea/lemon. We had another large drink to sip on all day and a veggie patty w/butternut squash soup.

Day 5 – This is our last day and already I’m starting to miss how simple food/meal prep has been this week. As we woke up and jumped on the scales, we saw that we both dropped 9 lbs. My jeans seem to fit better. The weight isn’t that important, but it’s been a fun measure to keep during the fast. We both are happy that our bodies don’t feel bloated. We were both having the same swollen bloated gut feeling prior to the fast. It felt like our guts were made of solid hard plastic. That’s gone and it feels good! Since yesterday, I’ve been feeling light-headed and this morning the same. I even have a little headache. Once I started drinking my blended veggie/fruit drink it went away. My husband hasn’t felt any negative side effects except hunger. I’m not really hungry this morning however I’m looking forward to eating. We’ve started today out with green tea/lemon and a big veggie/fruit shake to sip on throughout the morning. We’ll be drinking water by the liter as we have been all week. For dinner, I plan to eat baked fish and cheese tortellini. 🙂 I can’t wait.

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    Im ready for my cheeseburger.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Johnny Reads

All things books, all the time

Memoir Notes

a blog for memoir writers

Shivangi Reviews

Travel, Technology, Food, Bollywood, Celebrities, Fashion, Lifestyle, Trends & Reviews! Follow me! #ShivangiReviews #IFC

And Another Thing, Hon

I have a story about that...

Aesthetic Athlete

Nutrition. Design. Life.

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

The Reading Corner

A Book Blog for Teachers, Readers & Writers

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

North American Review

& We are bound to make some mistakes

The Transient Photographer

The Journal Of An Always On The Move Photographer

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

Writing for the Pop Culture Literate.

bluntshovels

Grumpy policy wonk wanting to be optimistic

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Blog Rest and Play

Shall we dance?

Tales from the Great Adventure

a journal of living-like-we-mean-it, by Derek Maul

FINE IGBO GIRL

LET'S PLAY DRESS UP..

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Denise Minger

Rescuing good health from bad science.

criticaldispatches.com/

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

Yep! We Live Like That

& We are bound to make some mistakes

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

At The Well

me...unfiltered

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Medievalist in the Making

Professional turned PhD Student

Pretty Poodles and Pets

Plantation, FL Pet Grooming

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

MY COLLEGE ODYSSEY

Welcome To My Thoughts, Hungry?

Thoughts of the Fallen

A collection of nonsensical words thrown together

A Homeschool Mom

Inspiration For Learning and Life.

Welcome to the Music Club

Music Takes You on Journeys

Wandering Bark Books

Literature, Books, Education, Humanities, and Life

love.life.eat

living a mindful life

the procrastinators handbook

A useless distraction

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

keithgarrettpoetry

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

